الجيش الإسرائيليّ أطلق صاروخاً على منزل فقتل امرأة وأطفالها الثلاثة*
أسماء القتلى

لمياء محمد حسن العطّار، 26 عاماً

وأبناؤها الثلاثة

إسلام محمد محمود العطّار، 8 سنوات
أميرة محمد محمود العطّار، 6 سنوات
محمد-زين محمد محمود العطّار، 9 أشهُر

إفادة محمد العطّار (37 عاماً) وقد فقد زوجته وأولاده جميعاً في هذا القصف

قبل الحرب كنت أقيم في طابق أرضيّ في حيّ العطاطرة في بلدة بيت لاهيا مع زوجتي وأولادنا الثلاثة إسلام وأميرة ومحمد. في الطابق نفسه كان يقيم أخي ضياء وزوجته وأولادهما الثلاثة وفي الطابق الأوّل أخي إيهاب وزوجته وأولادهما الخمسة وإلى جواره كان أخي بهاء يقيم. في الطابق الثاني كانت تقيم والدتي صبحة العطّار مع أخي تميم.

نحن لا علاقة لنا بالتنظيمات ولا توجد في حيّنا مكاتب حكوميّة أو مبانٍ ومنشآت عسكريّة. منطقتنا هادئة جدّاً  ولذلك واصلنا حياتنا في منازلنا كالعادة في وقت الحرب أيضاً، ولكنّنا مثل كلّ سكّان القطاع كنّا نسمع بالطّبع انفجارات الصّواريخ والقذائف التي كانت تطلقها الطائرات الإسرائيليّة وسفن سلاح البحريّة الإسرائيليّ شمال غرب بيت لاهيا. وكنّا نسمع عن الشهداء والجرحى وعن المباني المدمّرة والمنازل المهدّمة في كلّ أنحاء قطاع غزّة.

في يوم الخميس ليلاً بعد منتصف اللّيل كان القصف كثيفاً في شمال القطاع – بيت حانون وشمال بيت لاهيا. توترنا جميعاً وبدأنا نشعر بالقلق والضغط الشديدين لأنّ دويّ الانفجارات كان قويّاً جدّاً وخاصّة أنّه يحدث في منتصف اللّيل وفي غياب أيّة أصوات ضوضاء أخرى. بعد مضيّ نصف السّاعة على بدء كل هذا سمعنا انفجاراً قريباً منّا كان دويّه مروّعاً. فكّرنا أنّه ربّما يفضّل أن نغادر المنزل ولكنّنا تردّدنا لأنّ الانفجارات كانت قرب المنزل تماماً. فجأة وفي لحظة واحدة وقع انفجار داخل المنزل وانهار المنزل علينا.

وجدت نفسي تحت الأنقاض ومن حولي ظلام دامس. حاولت أن أخلّص نفسي ولكنّني لم أتمكّن من ذلك. أضأت مصباح هاتفي وبحثت عن زوجتي والأولاد لكنّني لم أرهُم ولم أسمع صوت أحد منهُم.

اتّصلت بعمّي الذي يعمل مع قوّات الدّفاع المدني. قل له: “تعال بسرعة، نحن تحت الأنقاض لأنّهم قصفوا منزلنا. أنقذونا!”. وقلت له أيضاً أنّني لا أجد زوجتي والأولاد وأنّ بقيّة العائلة تحت الرّكام ولا نستطيع إنقاذهم.

بعد مضيّ أكثر من نصف السّاعة جاءت قوّات الدّفاع المدنيّ وأخذت ترفع الأنقاض – حجارة ورمل وأثاث، كلّ شيء.  بعد ساعة ونصف السّاعة وجدنا زوجتي جثّة هامدة تحتضن جثامين أولادنا الثلاثة – كلّهم قد فارقوا الحياة! انهار عليهم الباطون والرّمل فاختنقوا فورًا. عندما نظرت إليهم بدوا لي كأنّهم نائمون وصعقتني صدمة هائلة عندما استوعبت أنّهم لا يتحرّكون ولا يتنفّسون، وبأنّهم باتوا جثثًا هامدة.

إسلام وأميرة ومحمد-زين العطّار

تمّ نقلنا جميعاً إلى مستشفى كمال ناصر حيث أجريت لنا فحوصات وصور أشعّة وتلقّينا العلاج. في اليوم التالي شيّعنا الشهداء بقلوب كسيرة وحزن عظيم إلى مثواهم الأخير: زوجتي وأولادي إسلام وأميرة ومحمد.

بعد الدّفن ذهبت مع بقيّة أفراد عائلتي إلى مدرسة وكالة الغوث ولم يكن معنا شيء سوى الملابس التي نرتديها. بقينا هناك عدّة أيّام دون أكل وشرب. حصلنا بصعوبة على بعض الأغراض وبعض الطعام والشراب ممّا جلبه الأهالي المقيمين في الجوار. بعد مضيّ بضعة أيّام انتقلنا إلى منزل أحد أصدقائي لي في حيّ الصّبرة بغزّة ومكثنا عنده حتى نهاية الحرب. آنذاك توجّهنا إلى خرائب منزلنا وجلسنا فوقها ثمّ استأجرنا منازل لنُقيم فيها إلى حين إعادة إعمار منازلنا. ما زلنا حتى الآن عاجزين عن استيعاب ما جرى لنا.

لقد دمّر الإسرائيليّون عالمي. هدموا كلّ شيء من حولي وأبقوني وحيداً. عمليّاً هُم شطبوا عائلتي من سجلّ السكّان. لا يوجد من يعزّيني. أسرتي التي طالما حلمت بها لم يبق منها أحد يساندني في هذه المحنة. كنت أتخيّل مستقبل أولادي وآمل أن أوفّر لهُم كلّ ما يحتاجونه وأؤمّن لهم تعليماً جيّداً. كنت أحلم كيف سنلعب معاً ونتنزّه ونسافر سويّة وأرى نفسي سنداً لهُم أحيا بهم ولأجلهم. لكنّ هذا الحلم الجميل انتهى وانتهى كلّ شيء. جميعهم ذهبوا ولن يعودوا. لقد قتلوهم وقتلوني معهم. جعلوني بلا أمل وبلا مستقبل أعيش حياة لا طعم لها. لقد بذلت جهدي لأوفّر لهُم حياة طبيعيّة وحياة كريمة خيلة راحة واستقرار ولكنّني فشلت في حمايتهم حتى وهُم داخل منزلي، في المكان الذي يُفترض أنّه الأكثر أمناً لهُم ولي.

  • هذه الإفادة سجّلها محمد صباح في 6.6.21.
محمد العطّار على أنقاض منزله
Muhammad Mahmoud Hashem al-'Attar, 37
محمد العطّار

وجدنا زوجتي جثّة هامدة تحتضن جثامين أولادنا الثلاثة - كلّهم قد فارقوا الحياة! انهار عليهم الباطون والرّمل فاختنقوا فورًا. عندما نظرت إليهم بدوا لي كأنّهم نائمون وصعقتني صدمة هائلة عندما استوعبت أنّهم لا يتحرّكون ولا يتنفّسون، وبأنّهم باتوا جثثًا هامدة.

إفادة منار العطّار (40 عاماً) أمّ لخمسة أبناء وهي سلفة لمياء

البناية التي كنّا نقيم فيها مؤلّفة من ثلاثة طوابق وفي كلّ طابق شقّتان. سكّان البناية 29 شخصاً وكلّنا من العائلة نفسها. أنا وأسرتي كنّا نقيم في الطابق الثاني، ولمياء كانت تقيم مع أسرتها في الطابق الأوّل.

قبل أن تقصف الطائرات الإسرائيليّة منزلنا بيوم واحد كان أوّل أيّام العيد ونحن رغم الحرب والقصف حاولنا أن نُشعر الأولاد بفرحة العيد. ارتدى الصّغار ملابس العيد وكانوا مسرورين رغم أنّنا نحن الكبار كنّا قلقين وخائفين. في المساء اتّصلت منال شقيقة زوجي وقالت إنّها خائفة وتُريد أن تأتي إلينا وتبقى حتى انتهاء القصف. في العام 2009 قصفت إسرائيل منزلها واستُشهد آنذاك زوجها وأخواه الاثنين. قلنا لها “تعالي طبعاً. البيت بيتك”، وعندما جاءت سكنت في منزل سلفي محمد في الطابق الأوّل.

في يوم الخميس بعد منتصف اللّيل كنّا جميعاً في المنزل. في ذلك اليوم قصفت الطائرات الإسرائيليّة بشكل مكثّف. ذهب زوجي إيهاب إلى غرفة النوم وأنا بقيت في الصّالون مع الأولاد. كنت قد ناديت زوجي عند منتصف اللّيل تقريباً وقلت له أن يأتي ويجلس معنا في الصّالون. لحظة أن خرج من غرفة النوم قُصفت الغرفة. تحطّم زجاج نوافذ المنزل وانخلعت الأبواب ووقعت. أخذنا جميعاً نبكي ونصرخ وانتقلنا من الصّالون إلى المطبخ.

بعد ثوانٍ معدودة قال إيهاب “يبدو لي أنّ الأمر انتهى فقد ساد الهدوء” وفي هذه اللّحظة تمامًا شرع بيتنا يهتز ويتأجح فوقعت أرضاً. نظرنا إلى بعضنا البعض ولم نفهم ما الذي يجري. سقطت الثلّاجة على زوجي ثمّ سقط السّقف علينا وعلى الثلّاجة. تسرّب الغاز وأحسسنا بالاختناق. صرنا نصرخ ونستغيث لكنّ أحداً لم يسمعنا. أضاء زوج ابنتي مصباح هاتفه وقام وأغلق صمّام بالون الغاز. كان أولادي وبناتي يصرخون لأنّهم ظنّوا أنّ والدهم قد استُشهد. أمسكت بيد إيهاب وسألته إن كان بخير فأجابني أنّه بخير. طلب أن نخرج من المنزل أنا والأولاد ونتركه، لكنّني رفضت ذلك. اتّصلت ابنتي نور بالإسعاف والدّفاع المدنيّ وعندما لم يردّوا اتّصلتْ بأقاربنا ليأتوا ويُنقذونا.

بعد مضيّ رُبع السّاعة سمعت صُراخ بهاء سلفي (39 عاماً) ينادينا، وكانت بناتي يصرخن ردّاً عليه. جاء فورًا لإنقاذنا ومن ثمّ جاء سلفي تميم (30 عاماً) وأعان بهاء على إخراجنا من تحت الأنقاض. عندما أخرجوا جميع أبنائي وبناتي رفضت الخروج وأصرّيت على البقاء قرب زوجي. كان عالقاً تحت الثلّاجة ويصعب سحبه خاصّة وأنّنا خشينا أن ينهار السّقف عليه. حاول كلا سلفيّ طوال 45 دقيقة أن يُخرجاه وفي النهاية تمكّنا من ذلك بأعجوبة. لم يُصب منّا أحد وزوجي خرج سالماً والحمد لله.

عندما كنّا خارج المنزل وجّهنا المصابيح نحوه فرأينا كومة خراب. كنّا واثقين أنّ لمياء وأطفالها قد فارقوا الحياة. كان الجميع يبحث عنها بين الرّكام وعند السّاعة 1:00 بعد منتصف اللّيل قال سلفي بهاء إنّه رأى لمياء وأولادها تحت الأنقاض وقد استُشهدوا لكنّه لا يستطيع انتشالهم.

لمياء العطّار وأولادها.

نحو السّاعة 2:00 فجراً جاءت سيّارات الدّفاع المدنيّ والإسعاف فانتشلوا لمياء وأطفالها من تحت الأنقاض ونقلوهم إلى مستشفى كمال عدوان في شمال غزّة.

انتقلنا إلى مدرسة وكالة الغوث في حيّ الرّمال. خرجنا حُفاة وبملابسنا التي نرتديها وهذه حتى قد تمزّقت. وكنّا مصدومين وحزينين جدّاً ممّا جرى لنا. لم يكن في المدرسة ماء ولا طعام ولا فراش أو ملابس، لكنّها كانت أكثر أمناً من منازلنا.

لم نودّع لمياء وأطفالها إذ أخرجوهم من ثلّاجات الموتى مباشرة إلى المقبرة ولم يشيّعهم أحد سوى إخوة زوجي وبعض الأقارب. لا يمكن أن أصف لك إحساسي. لقد كان هذا أصعب موقف واجهته في حياتي. كنت أريد أن أودّعها. لم أصدّق أنّني فقدتهم وحتى الآن لا أستوعب ما جرى. كانت لمياء امرأة طيّبة جدّاً. كنت أحبّها وتقريباً لم نكن نفترق. أولادها كانوا دائماً في بيتي يلعبون مع ابني أحمد وهو الآن يسأل عنهم طوال الوقت ولا يصدّق أنّهم استُشهدوا. يريدنا أن ننتشلهم من تحت الأنقاض مثلما انتشلنا بعض الأثاث. حالته النفسيّة صعبة. في اللّيالي – عندما تنقطع الكهرباء – يأخذ في الصّراخ قائلاً إنّهم سوف يهدمون البيت فوق رؤوسنا وراجياً ألّا نتركه.

للمياء من زواجها الأوّل ابنة اسمُها سوزان. بعد أن فقدت والدتها صارت تأتي إلينا كثيراً. إنّها تبكي والحزن بادٍ في عينيها وأنا أواسيها وأقف بجانبها، نصطحبها معنا عندما نخرج للتنزّه، أقول لها إنّنا لن نتخلّى عنها أبداً وإنّها مثل أولادنا.

منزلنا الذي تهدّم أقمت فيه طوال 21 عاماً والآن أقيم في منزل ابنتي. لقد شقيت كثيراً لكي يكون لي بيت مُلكي. حرمت نفسي من أشياء كثيرة لكي أوفّر المال لأجل المنزل وفي لحظة واحدة تهدّم كلّ شيء. عثرت على بعض الوثائق والمصاغ ولكنّ الذكريات لا يمكن استعادتها. حياتنا الآن صعبة جدّاً ولا طعم لشيء فيها. أنمضي أنا والأولاد معظم الوقت في النوم لكي نهرب من التفكير بما جرى لنا. فقدان لمياء وأطفالها أمرٌ لا يمكن تحمّله. المنزل يمكن أن يعوّض ولكن لا يمكن إعادتهم للحياة فقد ذهبوا إلى غير رجعة.

الحياة يجب أن تستمرّ ونحن مجبرون على ذلك. أدعو الله أن يتغمّد لمياء وأطفالها برحمته ويصبّر زوجها على مُصابه. حالته النفسيّة سيّئة للغاية. لم أره يبكي. لا يزال مصدوماً ممّا حدث ولذلك لا يبكي، لكنّ الحُزن بادٍ في عينيه. أرجو أن يلهمه الله الصّبر والسّلوان.

  • هذه الإفادة سجّلتها ألفت الكُرد في 28.6.21.

يزعم جيش إسرائيل أنّ شبكة أنفاق حماس كانت تمرّ في جوار هذا المبنى.

Manar al-‘Attar, 40, mother of five, Lamyaa’s sister-in-law
منار العطّار

أنمضي أنا والأولاد معظم الوقت في النوم لكي نهرب من التفكير بما جرى لنا. فقدان لمياء وأطفالها أمرٌ لا يمكن تحمّله. المنزل يمكن أن يعوّض ولكن لا يمكن إعادتهم للحياة فقد ذهبوا إلى غير رجعة.

Military fires missile at house, killing mother and three children
The persons killed

Lamyaa Muhammad Hassan al-'Attar, 26

Her three children

Islam Muhammad Mahmoud al-'Attar, 8
Amirah Muhammad Mahmoud al-'Attar, 6
Muhammad-Zein Muhammad Mahmoud al-’Attar, 9 months

Testimony of Muhammad al-'Attar, 37, whose family was killed in the incident:

Before the war, I lived on the ground floor [of a building] in the al-’Atatrah neighborhood, in the town of Beit Lahiya, with my wife and our three children: Islam, Amirah and Muhammad. My brother Diaa’, his wife and their three children lived on the same floor. My brother Ihab, his wife and their five children lived on the first floor, and my brother Bahaa lived next to him. My mother Sabha lived on the second floor with my brother Tamim.

We have no connection to any organizations, and there are no government offices or military buildings and facilities in our neighborhood. Our area is very quiet, so we carried on with our lives at home as usual, even during the war. Of course, like all Gaza residents, we heard the Israeli airstrikes and the shelling from Israeli navy ships in northwestern Beit Lahiya. We also heard about the dead and wounded and about residential buildings and homes destroyed all over the Gaza Strip.

On Thursday night, after midnight, there was heavy bombing in the northern Gaza Strip – in Beit Hanoun and northern Beit Lahiya. Everyone was very tense and stressed because the noise was very loud, especially as it was the middle of the night and everything else was quiet. Half an hour after it all began, we heard an explosion nearby. The noise was horrifying. We thought it might be a good idea to get out of the apartment, but we hesitated because the bombings were right by the house. Suddenly, in one moment, there was an explosion inside and the house crashed down on us.

I found myself under debris, in complete darkness. I tried to get out from under it, but couldn’t. I turned on the phone flashlight and tried to find my wife and children, but I couldn’t see them or hear any of their voices.

I called my uncle, who works for the rescue team. I said: “Come quickly. We’re under rubble because our house was bombed, help!” I told him I couldn’t find my wife and children and that the rest of my family was trapped under the rubble.

Muhammad-Zein, Amirah and Islam al-'Attar

The rescue teams arrived after more than half an hour. They started picking up the debris – stones, sand, furniture, everything. After an hour and a half, they found my wife with her arms around our three children, but none of them were alive. They were covered in concrete and sand and had suffocated immediately. I saw them, but they looked like they were asleep. It was a terrible shock when I realized they weren’t moving or breathing, that they were lifeless bodies.

We were all taken to Kamal ‘Adwan Hospital, where we had tests and X-rays and were treated. The next day, with a broken heart and deep sorrow, we laid the martyrs to rest: my wife and my children, Islam, Amirah and Muhammad.

After the burial, I went with the rest of my family to the UNRWA school. We had nothing but  the clothes we were wearing. We stayed there a few days without food or drink. We barely managed to get hold of a few items, and had something to eat and drink that area residents brought. A few days later, we moved to my friend’s house in the a-Sabra neighborhood of Gaza City and stayed there until the end of the war. When it was over, we went back to our ruined home and sat on the wreckage. Then we rented apartments to live in until we rebuild our house. We still haven’t processed what happened to us.

The Israelis destroyed my world. They ruined everything around me and left me alone. They simply erased my family from the population registry. There is no one left to comfort me. There’s no one from my family by my side, the family I dreamt of for so long. I pictured my children’s futures. I hoped to give them everything they needed and provide them with a good education. I dreamed of playing with them, having fun with them, traveling with them, always being by their side and living with them and for them. But that beautiful dream is over. Everything is over. Everyone has gone and will never return. They killed them and with that, killed me, too. They left me without any hope, without a future, to live a meaningless life. I tried so hard to give them a normal life, a life of dignity, contentment, stability. But I failed to protect them even inside my own house, the space that was supposed to be the safest for them and for me.

  • According to the military, Hamas’ tunnel network ran close to the house.
  • Testimony given to Muhammad Sabah on 6 June 2021
Muhammad al-'Attar on the ruins of his home
Muhammad Mahmoud Hashem al-'Attar, 37
Muhammad al-'Attar

They found my wife with her arms around our three children, but none of them were alive. They were covered in concrete and sand and had suffocated immediately. I saw them, but they looked like they were asleep. It was a terrible shock when I realized they weren’t moving or breathing, that they were lifeless bodies.

Testimony of Manar al-‘Attar, 40, mother of five, Lamyaa’s sister-in-law:

The building we lived in had three floors, with two apartments on each. There were 29 of us living there, all from the same family. I lived with my family on the second floor and Lamyaa and her family lived on the first floor.

The day before the Israeli planes bombed our house was a high holiday. Despite the war and the airstrikes, we tried to make the kids happy. They dressed up for the occasion and were glad even though we adults were very worried. In the evening, my sister-in-law Manal called and said she was scared and wanted to stay with us until the airstrikes were over. In 2009, her house was bombed and her husband and his two brothers were killed. We told her to come over, that our home was her home. She came and stayed in my brother-in-law Muhammad’s apartment on the first floor.

On Thursday, after midnight, we were all home. That day, there were heavy Israeli airstrikes. My husband Ihab went to the bedroom, and I stayed with my sons in the living room. At around midnight, I told my husband to come be with us in the living room. As soon as he left the bedroom, it was bombed. The windows shattered and all the doors in the house crashed. We all screamed and cried. We ran from the living room to the kitchen.

A few seconds later, Ihab said he thought it was over and everything was quiet. But then the house started shaking and I fell over. We looked at each other and didn’t understand what was happening. The fridge fell on my husband and then the ceiling collapsed on us and on top of the fridge. There was a gas leak and we felt that we were suffocating. We screamed and called out for help, but no one heard us. My son-in-law turned on his phone’s flashlight and turned off the gas valve. My sons and daughters were screaming because they thought their father was dead. I grabbed Ihab’s hand and asked him if he was okay, and he said that he was. He asked me to get out of the house with the kids and leave him there, but I refused. My daughter Nur called an ambulance and the Civil Defense, but they didn’t pick up. She called relatives and asked for help. 

About 15 minutes later, I heard my brother-in-law Bahaa, 39. He called out and my daughters shouted back. He came right away and got them out. Then my brother-in-law Tamim, 30, came and helped Bahaa get us out from under the debris. They got all my kids out. I refused to leave and insisted on staying with my husband. He was trapped under the fridge. It was hard to move it, and we were also afraid the ceiling would fall on him. My brothers-in-law tried to get him out for about 45 minutes and miraculously, managed in the end. Thank God, my husband emerged safe and sound and we weren’t hurt.    

When we were outside, we shone our flashlights on the house and saw it was in ruins. We were sure Lamyaa and her small children were dead. Everyone was looking for them under the rubble and calling out to her. At around 1:00 A.M., my brother-in-law Bahaa said he’d seen Lamyaa and her kids under the rubble and couldn’t save them. He said they’d been killed.

Lamyaa al-'Attar and the couple's children

At around 2:00 A.M., Civil Defense vehicles and ambulances arrived and got Lamyaa and her young children out from under the rubble. They were taken to Kamal ‘Adwan Hospital in northern Gaza.

We all moved to the UNRWA schools in the a-Rimal neighborhood. We were barefoot and had only the clothes on our backs, most of which were torn. We were in shock by what had happened to us and were very sad. We got to the school, which was unlivable. There were no water, food, mattresses or clothes, but it was safer than being at home.

We didn’t get to say goodbye to Lamyaa and the kids. Their bodies were taken out of the freezers and immediately buried. Only my husband, my brothers-in-law and a few other relatives attended the funeral. It was the hardest thing I’ve ever been through. I can’t describe it. I wanted to say goodbye to her and hug her and the kids. I couldn’t believe I’d lost them. I still haven’t processed what happened. Lamyaa was a very good woman. I loved her, and we were almost inseparable. Lamyaa’s kids were always at my house, playing with my son Ahmad. He keeps asking about them and can’t believe they’re dead. He keeps asking us to get them out from under the rubble, like we removed some of the furniture. He’s in a bad emotional state. At night, when the power is cut off, he screams and says our house is about to be destroyed and asks us not to leave him.

Lamyaa has another daughter, Suzan, from a previous marriage. She comes over a lot now. She cries and you can see the sadness in her eyes. I comfort her and stay by her side, take her for walks with us and tell her that we’ll never give up on her, that she’s like a daughter to us.

I lived in that house for 21 years, and now I’m at my daughter’s house. I worked hard to have my own home. I deprived myself of things to save money, but everything was destroyed in an instant. I found some documents and jewelry, but you can’t bring back all the memories. Now our lives are very hard and everything feels pointless. I spend most of my time sleeping with the kids, to get away from thoughts about what happened to us. Losing Lamyaa and her kids is unbearable. You can be compensated for a house, but they can’t be brought back to life. They’re gone forever.

Life goes on and must go on. I pray for Lamyaa and her sons to enter into the grace of God, and that her husband will have patience. He’s in a terrible mental state. I haven’t seen him crying. He’s in shock over what happened and can’t cry, but you can see the sorrow in his eyes. I hope he receives salvation from heaven.

  • Testimony given to Olfat al-Kurd on 28 June 2021
Manar al-‘Attar, 40, mother of five, Lamyaa’s sister-in-law
Manar al-‘Attar

I spend most of my time sleeping with the kids, to get away from thoughts about what happened to us. Losing Lamyaa and her kids is unbearable. You can be compensated for a house, but they can’t be brought back to life. They’re gone forever.